God has a plan… We’re it!

2009 SEPA Synod Assembly

Lay Voting Member Allocations

According to the Synod Constitution, the Synod Assembly shall include “a minimum of two lay members elected by each congregation related to the synod, one of whom shall be male and one of whom shall be female.” (S7.21c)  In addition, the Synod Council is charged by the constitution to “establish a formula to provide additional lay representatives from congregations on the basis of number of members in the congregation.” (S7.21c)

This year, “in addition to the voting members to Synod Assemblies established by the constitutional provisions, each congregation may send as one additional voting member a confirmed youth/young adult up to the age of 25 who is a voting member of their congregation.”  (from a resolution passed by the 2008 Synod Assembly)

The following congregations with more than 2,000 baptized members (2007 statistics) are allocated two additional lay voting members (total four); Calvary, West Chester; Trinity, Lansdale.

The following congregations with more than 800 but less than 2,000 baptized members (2006 statistics) are allocated one additional lay voting member (total three):

Augustus, Trappe
Christ, Kulpsville
Christ, Oreland
Emmanuel, Pottstown
Gloria Dei, Huntingdon Valley
Good Shepherd, Southampton
God’s Love, Newtown
Grace, Royersford
Holy Trinity, Abington
Little Zion, Telford
New Hanover, Gilbertsville
St. Andrew, Audubon
St. Andrew, Perkasie
St. James, Philadelphia
St. John, Center Square
St. John, Phoenixville
St. John, Sumneytown
St. Luke, Devon
St. Matthew, Chester Springs
St. Matthew, Perkasie (Keller’s Church)
St. Matthew, Springfield
St, Michael, Unionville
St. Paul, Doylestown
St. Paul, Exton
St. Paul, Glenside
St. Paul, Philadelphia
St. Paul, Pottstown
St. Paul, Red Hill
St. Peter, North Wales
St. Peter, Pottstown
St. Stephen, Feasterville
Trinity, Perkasie
Trinity, Quakertown
Upper Dublin, Ambler

The following bi-lingual congregations are allocated an additional lay voting member (total three):  New Creation, Philadelphia; Tabor, Philadelphia; St. Petri-Hope, Philadelphia; Old Zion, Philadelphia; Immanuel, Philadelphia (Somerton).

The following congregations with significant numbers of baptized persons of color and/or persons whose primary language is other than English are allocated an additional lay voting member (total three):  Calvary, Philadelphia (West); Christ, Philadelphia (30th & Diamond); Emanuel, Philadelphia; Grace, Philadelphia (West); Immanuel, Philadelphia (West); Mediator, Philadelphia; Reformation, Philadelphia; Spirit and Truth, Yeadon; St. Mark, Philadelphia; St. Michael, Philadelphia (Germantown); St. Peter, Philadelphia (West Oak Lane); Tabernacle, Philadelphia; Trinity, Philadelphia (Germantown).

Other congregations not listed above all reported less than 800 baptized members and do not have significant numbers of members who are persons of color or whose primary language is other than English (2006 statistics).  These congregations are allocated two (2) lay voting members, one male and one female.

Categories: Reports
Comment form currently closed..